Home » Craft » My new Crochet obsession

My new Crochet obsession

As of yesterday, I have a new love. Crochet.

I love to sew and create things. I often have a few unfinished projects on the go at one time, right now I have an almost finished quilt for Bubba’s cot sitting in a box in Brisbane that I can’t wait to finish (when it arrives with my sewing machine!).  So last week, you could only imagine my excitement when I found a shop with a small range of wool & knitting needles – and although I am a pretty basic knitter, thoughts of blankets or scarves were running through my mind (or something else in a rectangle shape, as I don’t know how to increase or decrease stitches…).

The knitting ended up a bit of a failure, I did make a scarf for Bubba but it was loose and uneven and had a few holes that mum wasn’t here to fix.

After consulting Mr Google, and my favourite crafty blogs, I decided that I would teach myself how to crochet! Ooh the excitement! I have wanted to learn how to crochet since I was in school, and my sister would crochet amazing granny blankets!

So off Bubba & I trotted again to the same little shop and purchased a crochet hook that they had, (with lots of pointing and nodding and motioning…) and being the absolute crochet novice that I was, I didn’t know that the 3.5mm hook that I purchased is actually very small and it’s MUCH easier to start on a much wider hook!!

I watched a few “how to crochet” videos, the best that I found was below and got the hang of it pretty quickly.

I decided to make a really simple blanket for Bubba’s cot since I had navy, green and white yarn. Just rows and rows of double crochet – how easy! Unfortunately, bad lighting, a small crochet hook and thin navy wool all added up to a pretty frustrating 4 hours of crocheting last night.

So that brings me to our adventure today! After hunting down some tips from some other crafty ladies here in Tbilisi (via a yahoo email list group) I popped Bubba in the Manduca, & we went on a hunt for thicker wool and some bigger crochet hooks. We walked down to Baratashvili Street, (map link in the Tbilisi info section) which is about a 3km walk from our apartment (yes… via a coffee shop, how did you know?!). It is located past Freedom Square (coming from Rustaveli), and the yarn shops are in the underpass located near the colourful balconies along the Old Tbilisi Wall. It is such a beautiful part of the city and I managed to remember to take a few photos along the way (just a pity that today was so foggy and cloudy, and I only had my iPhone not camera).

Entrance to Underpass at Baratishvili Street.

Entrance to Underpass at Baratashvili Street.

The colourful balconies just above the underpass. Baratishvili St

The colourful balconies just above the underpass. Baratashvili St

Restaurant near underpass, Baratishvili St.

Restaurant near underpass, Baratashvili St.

I didn’t have very high expectations, thinking there may be one little yarn store in the underpass… but there were at least 4 or 5 stores all with different wools and yarns, along with crochet hooks, ribbons, trims, cottons, beads etc etc…. I will definitely be back for some more! The yarn over here is relatively cheap as well. I purchased some 100% Acrylic Yarn (100gms/190 yards) for 3.50Lari and a 5.5mm and 7mm crochet hook for 3 Lari each. (I would have liked a Cotton or Wool blend but I just pointed to the colours I liked & read the Turkish later… I’ll have a better look next time!)

So now, hopefully the Bub will nap for hours while I get my crochet on!  With the wider hook and thicker wool, I have crocheted the same amount in 40 minutes as I accomplished in 3 or so hours last night. J

The idea for the blanket I am making is from Honeybee Vintage’s blog here, but it doesn’t even need a pattern its so simple. I used 100 Chain Stitches for the width. I am going to use Grey, Dusty Blue and Cream in different width stripes, changing whenever I feel like it – it’s a Turkish brand called Kartopu.

OOOOH can’t wait to show you, husband away for a few days so I should get a good start on it! Here is the progress I’ve made so far, only about 7 rows! I had better pics but I just loved this one with a little hand trying to sneakily grab the crochet hook while I’m occupied!!

Someone trying to grab a crochet hook! Cheeky monkey!

Someone trying to grab a crochet hook! Cheeky monkey!

J x

One thought on “My new Crochet obsession

Leave a Reply

