Home » Baby » Manduca love

Manduca love

I’ve gone for two walks today:

1. our regular morning walk for around an hour with Bub in the Manduca carrier to sit & have a coffee (and look in various stores)

2.  just for a “short” walk (10min each way) to a store to pick up a new Doona / Duvet/ Quilt. For this second walk I carried Bub and let him walk for a little bit.

This short walk carrying my 11.5kg baby, then home with him and 2 big shopping bags, made me fall back in love with my baby carrier. He’s not only heavy when carrying him, but when he walks he never goes in the direction that I want, so I end up looking like a crazy lady running around trying to haul & drag him in the right direction. He also will stop and watch every bus go past…. and truck… and police car… which on the main street of Tbilisi, is almost every car. So therefore, I am never leaving home without my Manduca again.

I am also missing going for walks with my Baby Jogger pram. I love our pram, it is such a great pram to drive…. around a city where you don’t need to use an underpass to cross the road (which I do to get anywhere*), or don’t have a steep flight of stairs up to your apartment building (which I do..). Most of the shops and cafes also have steps to get up to them or down into them. Not so much a pram friendly inner city – but there are some lovely parks to walk around with a pram … if I could get to them! 🙂

*I should clarify – Georgian’s do not need to use an underpass, they just walk across the road in the middle of the traffic, dodging the cars or getting beeped at.

On another note – I am determined to learn and use Georgian, as although many Georgians can speak some English, I think its useful & polite to know some. I have learned:

Hello: Gamarjoba

Thankyou: Madloba

Goodbye: nakhvamdis

I’m getting there….

 

Leave a Reply

